Alternative Movie Poster Tuesday: Gravity

7 Oct

Hey, guys! I hope everyone’s week is off to a good start. For this week’s Alternative Movie Poster Tuesday I wanted to check out some “Gravity” posters. “Gravity” stars Sandra Bullock and George Clooney and this thriller is on it’s way to becoming the highest grossing movie to open in October ever. I talked about the official “Gravity” movie poster in my first blog post, The Movie Posters of Fall 2013 and I found some cool redesigns. Unfortunately, I haven’t seen the movie yet so please leave comments if you have and let me know what you thought of it! Which poster concept do you think fits the movie best?

By Daniel Lackey

Gravity 1This illustration is really neat.  I’m sure it was made digitally but the texture and look of paint is really nice. I like that the design looks just a little heavy on the right side with Bullock’s face and the title. It gives that feeling of emptiness on the left. I’m not sure if this is what the artist intended but it looks like her face acts as a close up of the figure.

 

 

 

By Simon Hawes

Gravity 2I love the concept of this design. The title font is great and the colors are perfect. The blue gradient on the top balances the design nicely. And again I think that the openness and emptiness is a really important thing to incorporate in all these posters which is done well here. My favorite detail of this poster is how the kerning, or the space between the characters, is  increased with each letter of the tagline. The letters also fade; there is definitely a big emphasis on the type in this design. The proportions and the artist’s choice to elongate the poster is also interesting.

 

 

 

By Doaly

Gravity 3

This poster has a similar look to the first redesign. Both have the look of paint and they use very similar san serif fonts. This design looks very balanced with the placement and spacing of the title and tagline. It has great depth to it and captures that feeling of falling in or floating away. I also like the hand reaching out and how it ties into the tagline.

 

Comment and let me hear what you think of these designs or suggest a movie that you would like to be featured in the next “Alternative Poster Tuesday.”

Leave a Reply

