Alternative Movie Poster Tuesday: E.T.

24 Sep

Hey everyone! I have some cool news. I’m deeming Tuesdays “Alternative Movie Poster Tuesday.” Every Tuesday I’ll choose a movie and find some cool alternative designs to talk about. I was inspired to do this by one of my favorite websites, alternativemovieposters.com which features 1000′s of alternative movie posters from hundreds of artists, graphic designers and illustrators. I will pull many of the posters I choose from this site, as I find it’s often difficult to track down the designers of some posters and AMP always gives credit. You can also view posters by artist if you fall in love with a particular design.

For this week I chose Steven Spielberg’s E.T. This is one of my favorite movies and the poster design is iconic! I found some awesome re-imaginings as well.

By Mike Mitchell

E.T. Movie Poster Alternative Design 1

I love the color here and the choice to use such an iconic scene. The artist captured the sunset so well! The gradients are perfect. It’s landscape orientation is uncommon for a movie poster but definitely the right choice for this design.

 

By Paul Johnstone

E.T. Movie Poster Alternative Design 2

This may have to be my favorite of the three. I love this galaxy background and how the top section of the door blends right in. This drawing style is so great too and I like how it contrasts the background.

 

 

 

 

By Dean Walton

E.T. Movie Poster Alternative Design 3This one also incorporate the famous bike scene. The shapes are simple here but the texture adds a great element.

 

Comment and let me hear what you think of these designs or suggest a movie that you would like to be picked for the next “Alternative Poster Tuesday.”

7 Responses to “Alternative Movie Poster Tuesday: E.T.”

  1. Shannon Sparks September 24, 2013 at 8:43 pm #

    I love this image! Beautiful!!!! I just love the colors as well. 🙂

    • Shannon Sparks September 24, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

      I mean the first image with the orange that is!!! 🙂

      • meggie3675 September 24, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

        haha I know, right?! I wan’t it for my wall!!

  2. chicagochick510 September 25, 2013 at 10:49 pm #

    It looks like they’re happily riding off into the sunset…until they nearly kill ET 😦 haha

    • meggie3675 September 25, 2013 at 10:59 pm #

      Yeahhhh… gets me every time. haha

  3. mhruss2013 September 26, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

    Love E.T. and your blog looks fantastic

    • meggie3675 September 26, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

      Such a great movie. Thank you!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

